Name computers by using serial numbers

I am a beginner in Power shell and I am trying to automatically name the computer from a .cvs file.

What I have is a column that says serial number & one that says computer name.

What I want the end result to be is for it to find the serial number of that computer and look in the Rename.csv file for that serial and give it the name that corresponds with that serial number. can some one give me an example of how to write that in power shell?

Any help will greatly appreciated.

James I.

May 21st, 2015 2:53pm

I am a beginner in Power shell and I am trying to automatically name the computer from a .cvs file.

What I have is a column that says serial number & one that says computer name.

What I want the end result to be is for it to find the serial number of that computer and look in the Rename.csv file for that serial and give it the name that corresponds with that serial number. can some one give me an example of how to write that in power shell?

Any help will greatly appreciated.

James I.

Are your computers in domain?   
And btw, naming computers based on serial numbers is terrible imho -.-   Ive never seen it

(Get-WmiObject Win32_ComputerSystem).Rename('yourserialnumber')
or 
Rename-computer (PS v3.0)

Free Windows Admin Tool Kit Click here and download it now
May 21st, 2015 4:06pm

No they are not on the domain yet. And I am not naming them the serial # I just want to use the serial # so it knows what to name it from the csv file.

Thanks for the reply

May 21st, 2015 4:21pm

How are you going to find the computers if they are not in a domain?  What mechanism lets you discover the computers.  Are they in a dedicated DHCP scope?  Are they registered to an Internet domain.  Are they on an IP subnet?

You need to solve these problems to do what you are asking.

If you are looking for just a local solution then you can get the serial number this way:

WMIC OS get serialnumber

Now you can just match it.