My RODC replicates to my DCs?
I'm just learning about RODCs and trying things out by example. I have two DCs and an RODC through Virtual PC 2007 and when I make updates to the RODC, for example, adding user accounts or putting accounts in Enterprise Admins, these changes replicate to my DCs. I thought RODC was read only and I wouldn't be able to edit AD? Can somebody explain this to me please as I haven't had much luck finding an answer to this.
October 28th, 2010 10:03pm

Hi, By default, the RODC supports only inbound replication, which means it replicates from writeable DCs but can’t replicate to DCs. Regarding your problem, the following similar issue may explain your situation: RODC AD changes replicating back to DC Best Regards DalePlease remember to click Mark as Answer on the post that helps you, and to click Unmark as Answer if a marked post does not actually answer your question. This can be beneficial to other community members reading the thread.
Free Windows Admin Tool Kit Click here and download it now
October 29th, 2010 4:51am

Thank you that helped a lot. To clear it up. If you put an RODC and a DC on the same subnet, then essentially you can be on the RODC and make updates and they will go through because they will be referred to the DC in the same subnet and then replicated back to the RODC behind the scenes. So you need to have an RODC on its own site and subnet and only then you will not be able to make changes on the RODC machine to AD. Is that correct? Please let me know if I'm getting this or not! Great help on this site by the way.
October 29th, 2010 6:40am