Multi home 2008 R2 for backup
I'm a novice at the networking side of things so I'll apologize in advance if this is something simple, I've been looking at all sorts of sites and forums and have just been getting more confused so I figured I'd just ask. I've got a Win 2008R2 server that runs my back ups. That server and the connected storage array are both on my internal network (10.1.x.x) and backing up other machines on the network is fine. However when I try to back up a server on the DMZ (192.x.x.x) I get a huge slow down on the network because it is all going through the firewall (pix). My thought to avoid this problem is to multi home the back up server and have it connected to both the DMZ and the internal network. My problem is that I'm not sure how to go about this. There are two nic cards on the server so that is not a problem, but the more I read the more confused I got about if I just needed to connect the other nic to the DMZ, do I need to install RRAS, do I need to do both, or is there a different, better way to do this altogether. If someone could point me in the right direction I'd really appreciate it. Thanks in advance!Dave
May 2nd, 2011 8:05pm

Hi dsvick1236598, Thanks for posting here. > However when I try to back up a server on the DMZ (192.x.x.x) I get a huge slow down on the network because it is all going through the firewall (pix). Whatever We’d recommend single home your windows backup server at all. This issue is due to the incorrect setting between DMZ and your inside network on PIX. You may start troubleshooting form that . Have you set NAT between DMZ and inside network? and what’s entries in access-list on PIX? I think you’d better consult with Cisco first or maybe post to their support forum. Thanks. Tiger Li Please remember to click Mark as Answer on the post that helps you, and to click Unmark as Answer if a marked post does not actually answer your question. This can be beneficial to other community members reading the thread.