Messing with SMTP, Active Directory and domain controller....
Hi guys, I'm responsible for a SAP development training server. I'm a SAP expert, and not a Windows Server expert. So please forgive me should I ask dummy questions here... The server is a Windows Server 2008 R2 machine, and is connected to AD and a domain controller (let's say domain.com). This is where the problem starts.... I set up SMTP to be able to send out mail from within SAP. Works great, as long as we don't send e-mail to domain.com, in which case the outbound mail gets stuck in the queue. I already worked through to the cause of this. I found a message from smtpsvc in the event log: Message delivery to the host '192.168.241.4' failed while delivering to the remote domain 'domain.com' for the following reason: The remote server did not respond to a connection attempt. Sure this fails, as 192.168.241.4 is the domain controller for domain.com, and not the domain.com mail server, which is outside of our own network (with GoDaddy). So how do I let the SMTP server know that outbound mail to domain.com shall go to GoDaddy, and not the domain controller? I have no access to the DNS server. I also don't want to generally route domain.com to GoDaddy (for example via the hosts file), as this might have unwanted effects on SAP NetWeaver. I just need to restrict this connection to port 25 and/or the SMTP server. Any ideas? Any help would be appreciated a lot! Jan
June 5th, 2012 10:33pm

Hello Jan, I suggest you post your query here Regards, Ravikumar P
Free Windows Admin Tool Kit Click here and download it now
June 6th, 2012 1:24am