Manually Expire a Password
I'm a DBA whoneeds to test something more OS Admin related but doesn't know how. I see a reference to, "manually setting password expiration on a user account" in a powerpoint presentation that accompanies a webcast by Mike Resnick and Joe Vasil who work for Directory Serivces Support at MS. I would like to force expiration of a test user account so that I can figure out for sure what happens from a user perspective when they attempt to log on when their account is expired.The power point presentation doesn't explain how to do that and I'm failing to successfully narrow my search criteria when using various search engines to find out. In other words, I'm getting thousands of hits that don't have anything to do with this topic. So, I thought I would simply ask a group that would be likely to know.Could one of you provide some guidance for me on how to do this. My test machine is a Windows 2008 Server where I am local admin and I have a local account called Test_User that I've logged in as. I've set values for each item in Local Security Policy -> Security Settings -> Account Policies -> Password Policy and Account Lockout Policy. Under LSP -> SS -> Local Policies -> Security Options I have the defaults.Joe Moyle
September 30th, 2008 4:55pm

You can programatically set the pwdLastSet attribute of the test account to 0. Assuming your test account is given the username "TestAccount": 1 strComputer="." 2 SetobjUser=GetObject("WinNT://"&strComputer&"/TestAccount,user") 3 objUser.Put"pwdLastSet",0 4 objUser.SetInfoYou can change the value of strComputer for that of a remote computer if you want to run this script againts that remote host.Regards,Salvador Manaois III MCSE MCSA CEH MCITP | Enterprise/Server Admin Bytes & Badz : http://badzmanaois.blogspot.com
Free Windows Admin Tool Kit Click here and download it now
September 30th, 2008 5:48pm