Login and Print issues
Hi everyoneI'm an IT educator at a school, Springs Girls' High. We have 80 windows XP machines connected to windows server 2003. I'm really new to the server environment, so please bear with me. I have active directory installed and learners can login without a problem. I have a few questions and was hoping that you would be so kind as to help this "old oaf"...Question 1: I have enabledroaming profiles and placed the detail as required... when thelearner logs into the pc it gives an error, saying that the pc will login with a tempory profile and they have to click ok... I have got each learner, there are almost 800 users to redirect their "my documents" folder manually, this will ensure that the work is copied to the server as a backup.... Question2: Printing issues: This is my biggest concern... I have setup a print server added a network printer assigned IP address 192.168.1.80. Printer is a HP Laserjet 4200...the learners cannot see the network printer... I'mreally stressing because they have to printout theassessment tasks for their exam in 2 weeks time.What I have done and it works, butwow! what a mission please can you help!I created a *.bat file with the following script rundll32 printui.dll,PrintUIEntry /in /n \\server2\hp laserjet 4200" I then copied this into every pc.... Start up folder for all users.... this has worked and all users can see the printer... but wow! im really drained.... after doin this for all 80 computers there must be an easier way... Thank you for all your hard work and hope to get a reply soon.. Gary Berends Springs Girls' High School
June 3rd, 2009 7:10pm