Logging into domain but use a local profile on the pc
Hi, I work in a school and each classroom has different programs installed, right now we are using novell server, and a local profile on the machine, so no matter how log into the computer the local account is always the same. exmple( student one logs in, logged into the netowrk as student on but as rm105 on the pc, student two logs into the same computer, he is logged into the network as student two but still logged into the local pc as rm105.) this allows me to set a standard desktop( icons and icon placement always the same for who ever loggs in) for all student who log into this computer. This year we are moving to windows 2008 server. what i want is to be able to do the same set up. Student is logged into the network, but logged in to the local computer as rm105. Is this possible? I have tried putting the icons in the all users folder, but the placement does not stay, when every i log in with a different account thee are all run horizontailly down the side. MJ
July 12th, 2011 2:53pm

what i want is to be able to do the same set up. Student is logged into the network, but logged in to the local computer as rm105. I think you are looking at it from a "wrong" perspective; I think that a good use of GPOs may allow you to achieve what you're asking for, but NOT as you described it, see, you may create a "students" AD group, assign them some network-wide permissions/settings and then assign them some "lab machines" permissions/settings w/o the need to use two different accounts ... then, maybe I am missing something; if that's the case, please expand your request a little bit
Free Windows Admin Tool Kit Click here and download it now
July 12th, 2011 3:35pm