KMS Confusion
Hi All, This is my first time using KMS licensing to license server 2008 and going forward (with the release of PVS 5.6 SP1) Windows 7 with XenDesktop and im wondering if you can help me answer a few questions Installing KMS Host: so to Setup a KMS host i will need to do the following 1. cscript C:\windows\system32\slmgr.vbs /ipk <KmsKey> - And this key should be from the below link and not from the KMS key through our VLSC? 2. cscript C:\windows\system32\slmgr.vbs /ato. then restart the KMS Host so this should now be the KMS host setup? KMS Keys for clients: For the keys for the KMS clients do you use keys from the below link and not from the KMS key through our VLSC? If you do use the keys from this website where are the windows 7 keys? http://technet.microsoft.com/en-us/library/cc303280.aspx#_KMS_Client_Setup Activating Clients: Is the correct way to activate clients like so slmgr.vbs -ipk KMSKey slmgr.vbs -skms 10.0.0.1 slmgr.vbs -ato If so whats the difference between this setup and teh KMS host setup otherthan the -skms (which sometimes isnt avabalie to me) Or use VAMT 2.0 to activite clients??? Product Key Type: When using VMAT 2.0 some clients report their key to me a GVLK and some report a CSVLK key. now from reading the help on VMAT is says that CSVLK are KMS Host keys. is this correct? Any help on this would be great. thanks
November 1st, 2010 4:42am