Installation Trouble: Zune Software: Windows Server 2008 R2 Enterprise
Hey to whoever can help, I'm currently running Windows Server 2008 R2 Enterprise. I'm an IST student who simply wanted to turn their system into a work station and get use to Windows Server. My issue is concerning installation trouble with the Microsoft Zune software. I'm unable to install the software, as it is supposedly made for desktop operating systems like XP, Vista and 7. I was fine with that at first. I figured, "Ah, I'll just purchase my media from rhapsody and use Windows Media Player to organize my media. Well I open up WMP, some music plays and others donot. I first got a message asking me to sign into my windows live or Zune account. The window states "Media Usage Rights Acquisition." It's simply trying to get ahold of the proper DRM. However, I'm not sure what happens, but the login seems to fail and I get the following message: "There's a problem with the usage rights for the item you're trying to play." It then asks me to start the Zune software, sign in and play the item and of coarse install the Zune software if I haven't already. So I call Zune support to try and come up with a resolution. Support first put me into safe mode. They then had me go to support.microsoft.com and type in 105000 into the bing search bar. I opened up the first kb article and attempted to download this exe called "ResetDRM.exe" to obviously try and reset this systems DRM. It failed because just like the Zune software, it would only run on a desktop system like Vista or 7. The representative provided me with a case number and suggested that I call "1-800-642-7676 for OS support. He explained that they would be able to adjust Server 08 to closer desktop like credentials (if that makes sense), to thus allow the Zune software to install. So I called the provided number and got ahold of professional support, which happens to be a "pay for your support" service. Obviously paying $250 would be over kill for th