I'm a domain admin, but I have restrictions to certain things
I'm sure this is simple, but I don't know where to look. I'm a domain admin, but when I log into this server I don't have access to things like the registry, or command prompt, or My Computer's Properties. Just certain important functions are denied. I am listed in the local Administrators group, so what else is there to do? To get around this problem temporarily, I just added a new local windows user on the server and did all my registry changes etc... , then deleted that user when i was done. That temporary local user had all access, but my original domain admin user does not.
July 20th, 2010 9:25pm

Open up command prompt and key in 'gpresult', review the group membersihps & settings for your account which is a member of the DA gorup, and take a look at the RSOP for your account on that specific server. Review the GPO settings that are being applied to your server or user account which are resulting in this issue.
Free Windows Admin Tool Kit Click here and download it now
July 20th, 2010 9:56pm

It's a good idea for admins to have two accounts. One for use as a normal user and one for admin. You can login in the morning with your normal user account, send/ rec mail, etc., and when you need to do an admin function "run as" or RDP into a server with your admin account. Admin accounts should be outside the scope of normal user group policies. It sounds like your user account may have restrictions from a group policy as suggested by cscharr. Or there are explicit restrictions for your account on this particular server.
July 20th, 2010 10:17pm