Hyper-V based 2 host clusters inside VMware Workstation 11

I have extensive experience with VMware, but wanted to setup Hyper-V home lab and learn it. I have a desktop with 8-core AMD processor and 32GB RAM, with 400GB SSD, so I intent to install two Hyper-V VM inside VMware workstation, with 4vCPU, and 12GB, I will also have one Win2008 R2 (1vCPU, 4GB) as DC, and another windows 2012 R2 (to install System Center 2012, I have the CD key). I have dedicated NAS for shared storage. I have the following question.

1). Is System Center the Microsoft solution similar to VMware vCenter 5.5?  Can I do shared storage?  Live migration (My Hyper-V is free bare-bone installation), how about HA, FT?

2). VMware has the vSphere client, presumably Hyper-V manager (installed on windows 8.1 or Winserver 2012 R2) is Microsoft's answer to that, my understanding is even though I use bare-bone Hyper-V, my function is not limited in anyway compare to type-2 Hyper-V installed inside Windows 2012 server, am I right?

3). Microsoft obviously pus their new OS very hard, so using Hyper-V 2012 R2, can I use Windows XP, Windows server 2012 ?  I strongly suspect Microsoft would intentionally limit the scope to protect their OS business.

thanks a lot for your answer. 

June 19th, 2015 10:17am

Hi,

Great questions, hopefully i can answer them for you:

1) System Center is a big suite of products (SCOM, SCSM, DPM, SCCM, VMM, SCORCH). Put together you can create a fully automated infrastructure / datacenter. I wouldn't say Systems Center is the same as vCenter. I would say that Hyper-V manager is the equivalent to vCenter in that it is used to manage your virtual machines. VMM (Virtual Machine Manager) can also be used to manage your virtual machines. Virtual Machine Manager is the equivalent to Vmwares Orcestrator and VDirector products. Yes Hyper- does use HA and FT built in. yes you can do live migrations of VMs and storage migrations