How to find WSUS server in unknown environment?

I've got what I consider to be an odd task facing me.  In an server environment where I have no knowledge of the infrastructure, I need to find out where the WSUS server is, and how it's configured.  I can't ask questions of those who are in charge of the environment and I need to identify the WSUS environment ASAP.  I've tried running GPresult and I'm getting access denied for most of the GPResult data even though I'm a domain admin in the environment.

I need to find where the console is installed and whether I have access to it. 

March 7th, 2011 3:26pm

I've got what I consider to be an odd task facing me.  In an server environment where I have no knowledge of the infrastructure, I need to find out where the WSUS server is, and how it's configured.  I can't ask questions of those who are in charge of the environment and I need to identify the WSUS environment ASAP.  I've tried running GPresult and I'm getting access denied for most of the GPResult data even though I'm a domain admin in the environment.

I can see at least a half dozen reasons in this statement along why we should not answer this question.

Maybe you can give us one useful statement demonstrating why we should believe that you should have access to this WSUS Server!?

In my book.. if you don't know where the server or console is installed, then you don't have access, and quite frankly, you've aptly demonstrated such a gross lack of knowledge about the product that I would say you should not have access!

I also note you don't even have admin access to your own PC, such that you can get useful information from a GPRESULT command.

Free Windows Admin Tool Kit Click here and download it now
March 7th, 2011 5:30pm

Who let you out into the public and what gives you the right to address someone like that? I think you aptly demonstrated a gross lack of manners and professionalism that I would say you should not moderate any more forums.