How do I add clients to Windows Server 2003? Via Internet? I have a HP Procurve Switch and not sure how to add clients.
Hello,I am working for a company that has all computers hooked up to a HP Procurve Switch. I know networking and have worked on other networks. However, I've never worked with a switch before. I created a server and am able to connect the server to Internet. Now I want to add the other pcs.Each PC is wired directly to the switch. Each PC has internet connectivity. Now I want to create a network domain. I am using Windows Server 2003. We have AT&T as the internet provider, so they are handling DNS and DHCP for now. The person that put this switch in place is no longer with the company and not available.Of course, the current environment is not documented in the slightest. I have no idea of the range of IP addresses. I am not really sure where to go from here. I would normally create my server, create my IP range, DNS,DHCP, etc. I then would plug in a router and then have each PC join the newly createddomain.How would I add clients when they are all connected via a switch?Can the PCs even be able to see the domain across the switch? Is there a way to add the clients going across the internet?If this is not the right forum for this question, I apologize and ask that someone let me know which forum would be more appropriate.Thanks.Tony
August 28th, 2009 2:24pm

Hi,First of all tell us about the Model of the switch.The only thing that may be a problem is with VLANs or something but you should check it first.HP procurve Switches have Web interface .If you wish and if you can reset the switch and start the network from begining .It's recomended to read Procurve manual before do anything :)
Free Windows Admin Tool Kit Click here and download it now
August 28th, 2009 3:41pm

HI,It is a ProCurve 4000M Switch.Thanks.
August 28th, 2009 10:33pm