How do I Watch a folder on a Mac using Powershell?

Hi All,

I am completely new to Powershell and would love to hear some advice.

I am setting up a network render for After Effects and my mac is the main machine. My system will automatically make an After Effects file and place it into a folder for rendering by a PC, however Powershell fails to recognize a new file in the watch folder on the Mac

I have set up a watch folder using the following code:

### SET FOLDER TO WATCH + FILES TO WATCH + SUBFOLDERS YES/NO
    $watcher = New-Object System.IO.FileSystemWatcher
    $watcher.Path = "\\MARKS-MAC-PRO\Macintosh HD\Users\snaplash\Dropbox\AEP_PROCESSING_DO_NOT_DELETE"
    $watcher.Filter = "*.aep"
    $watcher.IncludeSubdirectories = $false
    $watcher.EnableRaisingEvents = $true  

### DEFINE ACTIONS AFTER A EVENT IS DETECTED
    $action = {$path = $Event.SourceEventArgs.FullPath
$name = [System.IO.Path]::GetFileNameWithoutExtension($path)
###New-Item -ItemType directory -Path C:\Users\PC2\Dropbox\PROCESSING_DO_NOT_DELETE\$name
start powershell.exe "cmd.exe /C 'C:\Program Files\Adobe\Adobe After Effects CC\Support Files\aerender.exe' -project $path -comp '$name' -s 0 -e 900 -output C:\Users\PC2\Dropbox\PROCESSING_DO_NOT_DELETE\$name\[#####].jpg"
timeout 2
start powershell.exe "cmd.exe /C 'C:\Program Files\Adobe\Adobe After Effects CC\Support Files\aerender.exe' -project $path -comp '$name'-s 901 -e 1800 -output C:\Users\PC2\Dropbox\PROCESSING_DO_NOT_DELETE\$name\[#####].jpg"
timeout 2
start powershell.exe "cmd.exe /C 'C:\Program Files\Adobe\Adobe After Effects CC\Support Files\aerender.exe' -project $path -comp '$name'-s 1801 -e 2888 -output C:\Users\PC2\Dropbox\PROCESSING_DO_NOT_DELETE\$name\[#####].jpg"
}

### DECIDE WHICH EVENTS SHOULD BE WATCHED + SET CHECK FREQUENCY  
    $created = Register-ObjectEvent $watcher "Created" -Action $action
     while ($true) {sleep 1}