Home Network
Hello All, Could anybody provide me direction please, i am new to server world. I want to connect windows server 2008 R2 to the internet via wireless router at home. My wireless router Netgear G router wgr614 is connected to cable modem and server is physically connected to the router through cat6 cable. I want to configure all my server roles including domain controller to play with them basically for learning reasons. However i have also a wireless laptop which i want to connect with internet directly to internet when server is unavailable but when server is available user can login to active director and can access shared resources. In above scenario i am not sure how to configure network, do i need to give static ip address to my server if yes what ip address should i give to the server? And what subnet mask, default gateway and DNS server i need to assign to the server machine. Do i need to enable DHCP on server or just through router? Thank you so much in advance for helping me for setting up my home network. imran
November 30th, 2010 10:46am