Getting the Server 2012 Remote Access Direct Access Monitor to work (help please!)

hullo,

We run 2 Direct Access 2012 server boxes, in a muticast NLB cluster to give failover.  The DA servers have a single NIC and work just fine.

I've recently installed Ops Manager, and imported packs and deployed the agent onto the DA servers.

I am not running a 'local system' but on a domain user (service account) which has full admin rights to these servers.

I've left it overnight to digest, I can see in health explorer it has deployed/detected the need for the Remote Access Seed only, but there is no green tick (so nothing is being monitored).  No Remote access services at all have been detected on the fully functional DA boxes.  I am still learning ops Manager (as fast as I can!); I've been looking for a server 2012 NLB pack, but I cannot find one thinking this may be the issue, but I am not confvinced as the powershell commands the monitor needs to run, and the GPO it needs to access are all accessible using the agent runas account I have specified.

As I am such a ops manger newb, can someone give me advice on how to diagnose, and possible force the DA monitor to run on these servers even if it is having issues 'discovering' the Direct Access 2012 installed service?

Any and all advice gratefully received.

February 15th, 2013 2:55pm

After much faffing about; it looks like you need to run the best practice analizer one time before it can start monitoring the services; is this true of all Windows Server 2012 machines, and if so is there a way to automate the BPA to run on a schedule as part of ops manager?
Free Windows Admin Tool Kit Click here and download it now
February 15th, 2013 10:17pm

Hi!

I have the samme issue and running the BPA doesnt solve it.

Are there some other thing you have to do to make it work?

March 22nd, 2013 10:58am

Hi Leon,