Get Windows environment variables

I am migrating the BE of an Access app. to SQL server 2012. I need to get the user's login name (Windows Authentication login). This can be done using xp_cmdshell, but, xp_cmdshell is considered dangerous and I wouldn't be able to run it once I deploy the app. to the company servers (currently I have SQL server on my computer and as an admin I can enable xp_cmdshell to run, but IT doesn't allow it in company servers for security reasons).

Another question, is it possible to send data from the logged in user from Access to SQL server? What I need to do is let SQL know the username of the logged in user, then, use it to filter the data on SQL. Idea is that user can only run queries for his data (he can't view other user's data unless he is a manager or an admin (currently the app. in Access logs the user in automatically if his Windows Domain username is found in the user's table, and set's his role found in the Roles table). It is this functionality that is giving me some problems to migrate to SQL.

PS : I created a function that uses the System_User SQL built-in function, this retrieves the SQL login username, but, the app. uses 1 SQL local account to connect to the server, so in essence it doesn't work as I need the Windows Domain account use

August 31st, 2015 2:35pm

but IT doesn't allow it in company servers for security reasons).

You can enable it and run your script and then turn it off.
Free Windows Admin Tool Kit Click here and download it now
August 31st, 2015 2:38pm

CURRENT_USER will return the logged in user.
August 31st, 2015 2:41pm

PS : I created a function that uses the System_User SQL built-in function, this retrieves the SQL login username, but, the app. uses 1 SQL local account to connect to the server, so in essence it doesn't work as I need the Windows Domain account username.