FIM Portal Security Groups missing
When I go to the portal as an administrator, I see the section Security Groups When I go to the portal as an user - Security Groups missing Why?
July 8th, 2010 9:11am

FighterZP,

On the FIM Technet Page you will find a lot of documentation on FIM 2010. Check it out! The reason of this behavior is the usage of Keywords. FIM Portal is highly customizable and this is done through these keywords. For Example the keyword BasicUI makes a Navigation Bar Resource available for all users.

Usage Keywords - This is a multivalued string attribute, with each entry delimited by a new line. Portal administrators can use this attribute to customize which set of users can see which set of Navigation Bar resources. You can create a set of Navigation Bar resources based on a particular Usage Keyword value. You can then create a Management Policy Rule using this set to grant certain privileged users permissions to read these Navigation Bar resources. To allow the same set of users to see a new Navigation Bar resource, you simply add that particular Usage Keyword in the new Navigation Bar resource. The new resource will automatically transition into the Navigation Bar set. For detailed steps to grant permission to users to view Navigation Bar resources, see Introduction to Configuring and Customizing the FIM Portal in the FIM documentation.

Kr,

Stefan

• Marked as answer by FighterZP Thursday, July 08, 2010 1:26 PM
Free Windows Admin Tool Kit Click here and download it now
July 8th, 2010 11:55am

Thanks!
July 8th, 2010 1:26pm

Traveling down this same path...I managed to add the keyword "BasicUI" to the Navigation Bar options to get the Security Groups section.  However, when I go to those pages as a user, I don't have a "Search" field up at the top-right of the screen.  What am I missing?
December 23rd, 2010 7:10pm

Jason,

if you do the same for the necessary Search Scope item in the Administration section you will get your issue fixed.