Ex-Domain Administrator - password reset / change privileges
I am an ex domain administrator, but changed jobs several years ago and no longer require the privileges. Our Service desk have the "Reset Password" ability, however, for some unknown reason, they are unable to reset my password. We think this is possibly because as a domain administrator, only another domain administrator can reset your password and this doesn't get revoked when your account is changed. Is this a known "feature"? even though I no longer have any rights other than as an end user?
December 3rd, 2010 3:54am

once you set priviledges you must go back in to revoke certain ones. can your helpdesk add/delete/change users?Mibble
Free Windows Admin Tool Kit Click here and download it now
December 3rd, 2010 10:04am

check to be sure the admincount attribute on your account is set to zero. If set to 1 verify you are no longer apart of any protected groups and then have someone change that attribute through adsiedit. That will most likely correct the problem.Chris Morgan
December 3rd, 2010 10:11am

I think you need Windows Password Key Enterprise to reset your Domain Administrator password. Read careful below. http://www.blog.lostwindowspassword.com/how-to-recover-windows-server-200020032008-ad-admin-password/Lost Windows Password Solution
December 5th, 2010 11:08pm

I know a tool to reset Domain administrator password .Reset Windows 7 Password
December 6th, 2010 2:40am

I've got access to the Domain Admins here in my office, it's just that I'm not always in the office. The only rights that the helpdesk have (IIRC) are to reset passwords and change permission groups.
December 6th, 2010 5:10am