Domain Controller SYSVOL folder replication

Hello Everybody,

I'm new to technet so I hope I posted on the right category.

I've been trying to understand the logic behind the replication of the sysvol folder on DCs. Do I need to install the DFS role on the DCs to have the sysvol share of all DCs replicated and synced?

I attended a course of Active Directory last week and I had some disagreement with the instructor about this argument.

Let's suppose I install a brand new Domain Controller on a new forest and domain and this DC is the root DC and FSMO master. Now, if I added a new domain controller this DC too has its sysvol folder.

Now I've learned that on the sysvol folder are stored the GPT files of the GPOs. My instructor says: "If you create a new GPO on the primary domain controller and you don't enable the DFS replication by installing the DFS role on the DCs, until the primary DC is working and up everything's fine, but if for any reason the primary DC on which the policy has been created and GPT has been stored is unreachable, the clients will be no longer able to refresh the policy". He also say that the fact that clients are able to apply group policy when the primary DC is up and running even from a different domain controller is thanks to the DFS, when you log on to the sysvol folder \\domain.name\SYSVOL\domain.name, the last "domain.name" as it is a pointer is managed by DFS that make sure that clients are able to reach resources they need no matter where they are.

So my question is, is SYSVOL Share on system > WS2008  automatically replicated and synced by windows or I really need to install the DFS role on the DC to have this done?

Unfortunately I didn't find nothing on the Internet this.

Thank you so much

Stefano

April 20th, 2015 5:12am

So my question is, is SYSVOL Share on system > WS2008  automatically replicated and synced by windows or I really need to install the DFS role on the DC to have this done?