Deleting registry keys.

Hi, Newbie here. I was laid off for a while and have really gotten rusty on my skills with Powershell which were in the fetus stage at that time. Anyway, I need to delete the contens of this registry key from 150 or so Win 7 boxes.

HKLM\SW\MS\Windows Defender\Signature Updates

I would like for the script to write to a CSV file for success or failure for each machine it touches.

I know this is a simple script, but can someone get me back in the game here?

Thanks!

March 9th, 2012 9:59pm

The simplest way to delete a reg key would be by using reg.exe.

reg delete /?

You can delete registry keys remotely and store the results in a PowerShell variable, which can then be piped out to a CSV using Export-Csv.

Free Windows Admin Tool Kit Click here and download it now
March 10th, 2012 12:03am

Hi,

You may use PSRemoteRegistry module for this. It contain Remove-RegKey cmdlet.    

• Proposed as answer by jrv 16 hours 22 minutes ago
March 10th, 2012 11:42am

Hi,

You may use PSRemoteRegistry module for this. It contain Remove-RegKey cmdlet.    

• Proposed as answer by jrv Sunday, May 24, 2015 2:48 PM
March 10th, 2012 11:42am

Hi,

We could use Remove-Item -Path hkcu:\Software\_DeleteMe to delete registry keys. By default, remove-item have no output, but we could use $? to know whether the action was successed.

For more information, please also refer to the below links:

http://msdn.microsoft.com/en-us/library/windows/desktop/aa394600(v=vs.85).aspx

http://technet.microsoft.com/en-us/library/dd315270.aspx

Best Regards,

Yan Li

March 12th, 2012 3:49am

Thanks for the links Yan. I had an old script for removing a file and outputing the results to a TXT file. I used that script but modified it to remove the entries under the registry key that I need to delete.

Get-Content "C:\Removal\machines.txt" | % {Remove-Item -Path "HKLM:\Software\Microsoft\Dows Def\Signature Updates\*" -recurse -force