DPM 2010 Powershell script to recover SQL database

Hello all,

This is my 1st post on here so please bear with me but I'm looking for some assistance with scripting an automated SQL restore using DPM 2010.  I'm not a script expert and I'm struggling to get my head around what's been suggested in the "Restore SQL 2008 Recovery Point in DPM 2010 to second SQL server via script" thread.

Essentially what I've got is a production SQL database being backed up using DPM 2010 at head office, the DPM backup of the SQL db's is then replicated to a secondary DPM server at a remote site.  I have a 2nd SQL server at the remote site that I want to automate the restore of the SQL DB's from head office to.  I can run Wilson Souza's script but it errors as my drive configuartions difer between to 2 SQL servers.

SQL Server at Head Office
DB Location F:\Data
Logfile Location E:\Logs

SQL Server at remote site
DB Location E:\data
Logfile Location E:\Logs

Essentailly what I'm after is a script that I can automate that runs on the remote DPM server to restore the latest replicated head office live DB backup to the remote SQL server with the correct file locations.

Hope that makes sense, thanks in advance :)

May 31st, 2013 4:51pm

I'll answer the latest version as you triple posted :)

This is a modified version of Wilsons (and rockyMtnRajah - who posted in the same thread as Wilson) ...he added the ability to restore to different DB & Log locations on the destination server)

Original Wilsons Script: http://social.technet.microsoft.com/Forums/en-US/dpmsqlbackup/thread/e5e50339-5707-4e72-bb9a-56f6d60ba926

Additions by rockyMtnRajah: http://blog.aggregatedintelligence.com/2012/01/dpmrestoring-protected-sqlserver.html