DNS not working/installing properly?-Server08R2
Setup: Modem>Server08R2>Router>PC's I have set up domain services and joined my PC's to the domain, added DHCP with a valid scope, but DNS won't work. I have the official academic course material on Server08R2 and watched this detailed video. DNS seems to install properly but when I try to connect my PC's to the internet I get a DNS not active or something along those lines. This is my first time setting up a network through Windows Server so be nice. Server08R2 normal PC which meets well more then min requirements. 2 NICs. Do the connections have to be bridged? I didn't think so but real application is a lot different then VM labs to learn Server08!!! Modem (from ISP with built in router) = WAN automatic. wireless/off, DHCP/off. Straight DSL in and an ethernet to NIC1 in. NIC2 out to cisco wrt320n (not configured, still at defaults). I've given NIC1 a static IP with a gateway to the modem and a loop-back for a DNS. NIC2 has also been given a static IP. This is where I'm stuck. I can get PC's to join the domain but I cant get the domain controller's DNS to work so the PC's can connect to the internet. This is my home network so quick replies are appreciated. Please ask me for whatever info you need to help me solve this. Thanks!
January 25th, 2011 11:02pm

To which DNS Server clinet points to? If to AD DNS (installed on your server) have you configured forwarders on it to resolve external (public) domain names? Can you ping from pc public ip address, i.e. 8.8.8.8 (google public dns)?With kind regards Krystian Zieja http://www.projectnenvision.com Follow me on twitter My Blog
Free Windows Admin Tool Kit Click here and download it now
January 26th, 2011 12:44am