DHCP options
I had a question regarding DHCP settings. I am still learning so I apologize ahead of time. I am wondering if their is a setting within DHCP that can point users to a certain DC. We have 3 sites and two domain controllers are at the main site and one DC is at each of the others. I want to make sure each user is connecting to the right dc. Thanks  
June 27th, 2013 3:02pm

DHCP is simply supplying a IP address, the servers run at a higher level in the protocol stack

AD has a DNS server role installed automatically so it should be able to find all the others easy.

Free Windows Admin Tool Kit Click here and download it now
July 1st, 2013 1:30am

right now we have 4 DC's two at main and 1 at each of the branches. What would be the best way to ensure that the right DC is connected to the right area?
July 1st, 2013 3:03pm

open up the server manager and see if all of the domain controllers are recognized

July 1st, 2013 4:55pm

can you 'see' all the other servers in the pool?

if you can you are good to go

July 1st, 2013 7:26pm

I'm not sure what you are talking about. I believe the DC's are all the same name like "dcdemo.com" the computer name is the only difference. I could be wrong but I think that's right.
July 1st, 2013 10:19pm

Hi,

Clients will get the correct DC if correct IPs are assigned. By default clients will connect to the local DC as they are in a same site. So simply check the IP of a client, see if it is correctly belong to its site and if so, you will not need to worry about the connection.

July 2nd, 2013 5:18am

Yes, they are all recognized
July 2nd, 2013 8:48am

I know we had a problem a few weeks ago that when I typed in echo %logonserver% it showed that someone at our main site was attached to the DC in another state.
July 2nd, 2013 8:49am

you should create a pool from the DCs

then it will not matter which one is used

shared resources can be part of the pool too

July 2nd, 2013 9:24am

I'm not sure how I would go about doing this?