Convert Page Blob to Block Blob

I'm somewhat new to Azure coming from an AWS background.

In Amazon, EC2 virtual machines use EBS (similar to page blobs) for running disks.  However, when a snapshot of the machine is taken, the snapshot is stored in lower cost S3 storage.

I am trying to achieve the same scenario in Azure.  When I take a snapshot of an Azure VM using "Save-AzureVMImage" the disks are saved to page blob storage.  I am unlikely to need these snapshots as they will only be used for recovering from catastrophic configuration errors.  I would like to save these disk images as block blobs as I believe the storage costs are approximately one quarter of page blob storage costs in Australia.

How do I do this?  Is there a better best practice?  What about backing up to Amazon S3 storage?

THANKS
Peter

BTW  Is this question better asked here or in the "Azure Virtual Machines" forum?

February 8th, 2015 4:58am

Hi,

I don't familiar with Amazon, but in azure, once a blob is created/uploaded we can't change the blob type. Refer to https://msdn.microsoft.com/en-us/library/azure/ee691964.aspx for more details.

Best Regards,

Jambor

Free Windows Admin Tool Kit Click here and download it now
February 8th, 2015 6:37am

Thanks Jambor.

Can I create a block blob from the page blob then delete the page blob?

If I'm paying a quarter of the storage costs is this worthwhile or would the costs of the copy and delete outweigh the savings?

On Amazon I can afford to keep multiple snapshots around relatively cheaply.  Looks like on Azure I'll have to limit my snapshots to keep costs reasonable?

February 8th, 2015 6:51am

It turns out I was under impression that block blobs and page blobs are priced the same. So BIG thank you for this (you learn something new everyday :))!