Confused over file access
Hi I'm a very experienced developer, and like many I hate security (from a developers standpoint it "gets in the way"). Of course I accept the need for it, but it is very frustrating and complex (I just tried setting up auditing for file access and that is bewildering). My issue is, I am running some test code on a Vista box, it attempts to open some simple test file located on a share on a Server 2008 R2 box. I keep getting "access denied" though, even though the utl AccessEnum says "Everyone" has read and write access to the file. Now what really confused me, is that the user names in the various permissions dialogs often have the machine name preceding them: TESTSERVER\Mike TESTSERVER\Administrator and so on. But how can I add a permission ON THE SERVER that contains the machine name for the workstation, ie: DESKTOP_01\NETWORK_SERVICE for example? That is if we have code running on the workstation under NETWORK SERVICE and I want that code to open/read/write the file on \\TESTSERVER\Folder How do I "tell" Server 2008 R2 on the test server that I want to add permission for the NETWORK SERVICE that runs on the workstation? Whenever I play with these security dialogs, I can never understand how to specify a user that is defined on another machine, these machines are setup as a workgroup incidentally. THanks for any help. Cap'n
July 20th, 2010 11:00pm

http://support.microsoft.com/kb/243330/en-us netowrk service is a well known sid, ithas the same sid on any machine. instead of the machine name, it would use NT Authority\Network Service
Free Windows Admin Tool Kit Click here and download it now
July 21st, 2010 12:13am