Configuring QoS for 3 classes of SMB traffic?
Hello, I've got 16 Storage Servers running Windows Storage Server 2008 R2. They're all connected to the network via single GigE links. Anyway, I'm trying to learn how to set up Policy based QoS to do what I want for these servers. They are all part of a small domain, as are all other machines in this post. I want to define a QoS policy that will essentially give me 3 "bandwidth classes". Forgive me, I'm new to all this, and may be a little fuzzy on the terminology / network stupid. Also, all (99%) of my network traffic is SMB 2.0 file serving. Class 1 - Incoming file transfers from an internet facing file server application (Aspera Enterprise Server, for the curious). This is the most important traffic, and must be prioritized over all others. This traffic always comes from one specific IP address, which is in the same subnet as my storage servers (172.20.11.0/24). These transfers are pretty fast for internet transfers, but not terribly fast for LAN transfers (45-200mbps max each). Class 2 - Outbound file transfers to client computers, on a different subnet (172.20.10.0/24). This is also very important. There are 4 client systems, and they will frequently stream video from the storage servers at ~220mbps each. The video files are spread out across all the storage servers, so I could have 4 clients trying to stream off one server, or they could all be on different servers. They're not ALWAYS streaming video, it's bite size chunks - a few minutes at a time totaling a few hours per day. Class 3 - Outbound file transfers to other servers on the same subnet (172.20.11.0/24). There are a lot of these guys (almost 80), and they're trying to copy video files from my storage servers to their local arrays. They'll go line speed if I let them, and they can definitely gang up on the storage servers. It's not critical for them to transfer incredibly fast, but I don't want to limit their bandwidth if I don't have to. I think this woul