Certificate Authority expired company CA
Hi there, I'm a complete newbie on CA so please bear with me. Background: We used to have a Server 2003 with CA on it. This was done before I work here (my current boss has no clue as well). A few years later, we've upgraded all our servers to Server 2008, and backup/restore the CA from Server 2003 to Server 2008. Now, when I looked into my computer's certificate (through mmc), it listed our CA but it's expired (on 2009!): mmc > certificates (Local Computer or Current User) > Trusted Root Certification Authorities > Company Name under Certification path, it says: This certificate has expired or is not yet valid. Looking in the CA console, it still giving out certificates to computers and stuff. What went wrong here? I've seen this GPO settings: Computer Configuration > Policies > Windows Settings > Security Settings > Public Key Policies > Certificate Path Validation Settings Computer Configuration > Policies > Windows Settings > Security Settings > Public Key Policies > Certificate Services Client - Auto-Enrollment Do I need to configure this settings?Andrew P.
April 26th, 2012 10:20am

Look at CA properties. Most likely CA certificate was renewed and published to Active Directory.My weblog: http://en-us.sysadmins.lv PowerShell PKI Module: http://pspki.codeplex.com Windows PKI reference: on TechNet wiki
Free Windows Admin Tool Kit Click here and download it now
April 27th, 2012 1:43am