Can not read anthing from the server console
I have a strange problem all lables on icons and in most sytem tools have graphic characters under them or on the whole screen. Example on task manager only processes are visable with some strange character s on the top bar. no access to other tabs. This is an applications server and all applications are working ok. The databases are fine. Since I can not see most of the screen I am not sure what to do. I have tried in safe mode same thing. I am new to servers not computers I am a retired engineer who worked in communications for the last 45 years. If you can help please do as I am LOST. I would like not to have to reload as that is a big job for me. Thanks again.
June 26th, 2012 2:32pm

Hello, Which version of server OS is installed on the problematic machine ? when you say 'console' are you using DRAC, ILO or IMM to connect the server ? could you pls post screen shot of the desktop ? Pls use the insert button to upload the screenshot looking at the problem description, at first glance I suspect this is a user profile corruption issue, recreating the user profile would likely to fix the things. To recreate a user profile, pls follow the steps below Log on with local admin account.Rename the affected user profile to say user.old (don't forget to backup favorites and anything important)Log on again with the desired user and restore backed up data. If recreating user profile doesn't help then you might want to run sfc /scannow from elevated cmd ( run as Admin if the server is 2008/R2) ThanksPress any key... What the ... Where's any key ? This posting is provided "AS IS" with no warranties or guarantees and confers no rights. About Me ?
Free Windows Admin Tool Kit Click here and download it now
June 26th, 2012 3:08pm