Can't play DVD using Windows Media Player on Windows Server 2008 R2
Running WIndows Server 2008 R2. Desktop Experience is Loaded. I think it includes Windows Media Player V12. Trying to play DVD. Get the 'adjust resolution' message. Adjusting Resolution does not help. Installed Full K-Lite Codec Pack. Get same message about adjusting resolution. Uninstall K-Lite Codec Pack now I'm getting 'WMP cannot play the DVD because a compatible DVD Decoder is not installed on your computer. I am a novice and dangerous so any 'step-by-steps' would be Greatly appreciated.
November 23rd, 2011 12:04pm

"I am a novice and dangerous so any 'step-by-steps' would be Greatly appreciated." THEN Stay away from server :) hes not to play video or music, any particular need to play dvd on the server? Renato Kurti CCNA,MCP,MCTS,MCITP
Free Windows Admin Tool Kit Click here and download it now
November 23rd, 2011 12:56pm

Running WIndows Server 2008 R2. Desktop Experience is Loaded. I think it includes Windows Media Player V12. Trying to play DVD. Get the 'adjust resolution' message. Adjusting Resolution does not help. Installed Full K-Lite Codec Pack. Get same message about adjusting resolution. Uninstall K-Lite Codec Pack now I'm getting 'WMP cannot play the DVD because a compatible DVD Decoder is not installed on your computer. I am a novice and dangerous so any 'step-by-steps' would be Greatly appreciated. Install Cole2k Media - Codec Pack V7.9.5 Advanced on your WIndows Server 2008 R2 box, reboot the server and then you should be able to play DVD using Windows Media Player. Here is a download link for that Codec Pack and its a freeware. http://www.cole2k.net/codec-pack-advanced.html You can also try some other alternatives like VLC Media player, Power DVD etc. Hope that helps. ~Santosh
November 23rd, 2011 5:46pm