Can't edit Default Domain Controllers Policy on Windows 8 and Server 2012

During our migration process from Windows Server 2008 R2 to Windows Server 2012 for all of our DC's, I've noticed a problem with the Default Domain Controller Policy.  I can edit this policy from any domain-joined computer running Windows 7 or Windows Server 2008 R2 (and probably earlier versions).  However, I can't edit it via Windows 8 or Windows Server 2012.

Here's the error message I receive:

Failed to open the Group Policy Object.  You might not have the appropriate rights.

Details: The volume for a file has been externally altered so that the opened file is no longer valid.

• This AD domain has been gradually upgraded since its original introduction Windows 2000 Server.
  • I'm a Domain Admin and Enterprise Admin.
  • I've triple-checked the ACL for this GPO, even going through every property of each entry, and it is exactly as it should be.
  • I've verified that all the standard files and folders for the GPO are in the correct location.
  • DFS-R is being used for sysvol replication.
  • The policy applies correctly, even to Windows Server 2012 domain controllers.
  • As mentioned, I can edit the policy without a problem from earlier versions of Windows.
  • This problem does not apply to the Default Domain Policy.  Both of these default policies have the proper UUID.
  • This problem occurs regardless of which DC I'm connected to via the GPO editor.
  • dcdiag /c passes all tests.

I'm stumped!  Any suggestions?

• Edited by Greg-UCO Sunday, May 19, 2013 12:49 PM Spacing
May 19th, 2013 12:48pm

Hi,

Can you edit it with GPMC on your Windows 2012 DC? How about adding another Windows 2012 DC and then check the result.

In addition, hope the below thread could be helpful, please try those 3 methods in the thread: