Cached Domain Credentials Function Not Working
I am a systems administrator of a Windows 2000 Server AD with multiple W2k and W2k3 Terminal Server member servers and a Windows Server 2003 AD only with multiple W2k3 Terminal Server member servers. The domain controller and member servers of the W2k3 AD are all Windows Server 2003 R2 with SP2. I am having the same challenge in both domains in that users are unable to remotely log on to the terminal servers when the domain controllers are turned off. As an extra bit of information, the domain controllers in both domains also function as the DNS servers in both domains. I have already confirmed that the default domain GPO for both domains as well as the Local Computer Policy for the member servers has the "Number of previous logons to cache (in case domain controller is not available " policy set to the default of 10. As of yet, I have found no articles or forum posts on any web site detailing steps of what to check when all settings appear correct yet the resulting function is incorrect. If the domain controllers in both domains are shut down and a user attempts to log on, the user receives an error stating they could not log on because a domain controller could not be contacted to authenticate them. A new event is then generated in the Application Event Viewer log (Event ID 1219) of the target Terminal Server stating: "Logon rejected for "domain name"\"user name". Unable to obtain Terminal Server User Configuration. Error: The specified domain either does not exist or could not be contacted.". Thank you in advance for any assistance that may be provided. j
September 27th, 2010 9:29pm