Blank pages in report preview
Hello, Everyone,

I'm new to Reporting Services.  I wrote a report today containing one grouping.  Everything appears all right in the report preview, except that every other page is "blank", i.e., shows only the page header and page footer; all grouping and detail information is missing.  The data on the page following the blank page seems to pick up where the previous non-blank page left off, so all information seems to be present within the report.

The report width and height properties are typical portrait-style  -- 8.5 x 11 inches.  The columns do not "run off the edge" of the report page boundary.  I haven't selected any page break for the grouping, as the grouping detail is typically only a few rows long, and would otherwise result in a very large number of pages.  Can anyone offer some advice to correct this problem, please?

Many thanks!

Craig
August 1st, 2005 11:33pm

I found the problem cause.  In Reporting Services,

report body width must be <= (report width - report margins width).

I reduced the margins to zero width, and the pagination problem disappeared!
Free Windows Admin Tool Kit Click here and download it now
August 2nd, 2005 5:25pm

Hi,

I am struggeling with the same problem, only your solution does not work for me...

My page width = 30cm, Report Width = 26cm, Margins = 1 cm allround, and no fields are set to CanGrow=false, any other ideas?

I'm using RS 2000

June 28th, 2006 5:51am

I have just upgraded the report to RS 2005 without any modifications,and the problem disappeared, seems to be a RS 2000 bug...
June 30th, 2006 6:32am

Hi,

I'm having the same problem but with a twist.

If the body width <= report width+margins then i only get 1 page of the report with no blank pages. (supposed to be 2)

If however the body width> report width+margins then i get all the pages but with an extra 2 blank pages.

Any ideas anyone? (I'm using RS2005)

• Proposed as answer by dgeffs Monday, September 12, 2011 4:25 PM