Backup BizTalk Server job
Hi,

I'm a SQL DBA, maintaining BizTalk databases. Currently I'm using regular t-sql backup scripts to backup all BizTalk databases

BizTalkMgmtDb
SSODB
BizTalkRuleEngineDb
BizTalkMsgBoxDb
BizTalkDTADb

I have couple of questions here:

1. If I want use BizTalk built-in backup job Backup BizTalk Server (BizTalkMgmtDb), I can only backup BizTalkMgmtDb database right? If yes why only this database requires built-in backup job?
  2. Do I need to go for regular backup scripts for the rest of the above databases?
Please correct me If I'm wrong

thanks
August 28th, 2009 9:48am

Hi,

BizTalk performs transactions across the different BizTalk databases this is why you need to backup all databases using a special procedure to backup the databases (the backup job). When you do a "manual" backup of each separate database you risk of being unable to restore the system.

The job will not only backu the BizTalkMgmtDb database but will also backup the other databases.

For more information see: http://msdn.microsoft.com/en-us/library/aa560972(BTS.10).aspx

Free Windows Admin Tool Kit Click here and download it now
August 28th, 2009 9:55am

Thank you Randel,

The job will not only backup the BizTalkMgmtDb database but will also backup the other databases.

Is the above is true even if the BizTalk databases are on different instances on the same server 'Server A'. Please see the below

ServerA\INS1 has BizTalkMsgBoxDb database

ServerA\INS2 has BizTalkDTADb database

ServerA\INS3 has BizTalkMgmtDb and SSODB databases

We have Backup BizTalk Server (BizTalkMgmtDb) on ServerA\INS3 instance. If I enable this job & set the parameters in the job step, will it backup the other databases which are on other instances ServerA\INS2, ServerA\INS1??

Please confirm above, I'm very eager to enable this built in backup job if it works for the above configuration we have.

thanks
August 28th, 2009 10:50am