Administrative User access denied

So, this is an annoyance that I have worked around for some time. But as we are fixing our Administrative user access (renaming the admin account and resetting the password to something obnoxious), I am using my DA account far more often, and this (problem below) begins to take up A LOT of time. The issue is this;

I am a Domain Admin.  The folders all have access granted to the Administrator group.  But when I go to access the folder (Search or navigate or anything) I am blocked with a popup, and told I have to grant my specific user account access before I can continue.  With large file systems, this can take a lot of time.

What I want is the local administrators (Local admin, DA's, ect.) to be able to transparently access everything they have rights to. 

• Is this the UAC that is causing the problem?
  • Can I turn off the popup's and leave the UAC on?
  • I need these changes across hundreds of servers, how can I make them (GPO, logon script, reg key, ect..)?
September 1st, 2015 7:34pm

Hey, it the file and printer sharing enabled on the firewalls? Also, did you add the domain admins group to the local administrators group of each machine?
  • Proposed as answer by Gramelot Tuesday, September 01, 2015 9:25 PM
  • Unproposed as answer by BlankMonkey Wednesday, September 02, 2015 6:32 PM
Free Windows Admin Tool Kit Click here and download it now
September 1st, 2015 9:25pm

Hi BlankMonkey,

Thanks for your post.

It may be related to UAC. If Administrators group has Full Control on those folders and you are a member of Administrators group, with UAC enabled, this kind of issue will occur as your account actually running as a standard user while only Admins have permission to access the folder.

https://msdn.microsoft.com/en-us/library/aa826699(v=vs.85).aspx

Could you please add the specific accounts to Security tab with Full Control permission with a test?