Access is denied.(5) - Server 2003 SP2
Background: Currently Building new Server 2003 IIS6 web servers The Servers are workgroup machines I am a local administrator on the Servers Issue: After making configuration changes on the server I get the error "Access is denied.(5)" when trying to perform some administrative functions, like restarting the server from the command line. An example of a repeatable change that causes the issue is making security changes to the Inetpub folder. After adding a user, removing a user or changing permissions to files and folder I get this error. Workaround: Restarting the server from iLO/VM console Notes: Most of the info I've read refer to domain policy or replication issues, not relevant due to being a workgroup machine. This post provided some good points, and suggests the problem was in the sysvol share, but again this isn't a domain machine http://social.technet.microsoft.com/Forums/en/winserverDS/thread/f0d71c16-ad4c-44c9-8e04-4e84e2a23cd8 I've seen some other posts that suggests the local security policy is corrupt, that could be the case as changes have been made to the local security policy, but I'm not 100% certain this is the case. Anyone got any suggestions?
May 1st, 2012 7:03pm

Hi, Please try to re-registered the msxml3.sll to test. regsvr32 msxml3.sll Hope this helps! Best Regards Elytis Cheng TechNet Subscriber Support If you are TechNet Subscription user and have any feedback on our support quality, please send your feedback here. Elytis Cheng TechNet Community Support
Free Windows Admin Tool Kit Click here and download it now
May 1st, 2012 9:56pm