A question regarding Management pack dependency.

Hi All,

I am new to SCOM, I have a question regarding management pack dependency.

My question is, Is Dependency is required when New alerts are created in a unsealed MP and the object class selected during alert creation is (i.e Windows server 2012 full operating system) and it is on a Sealed management pack ? 

For example i have a Sealed Windows server 2012 monitoring management pack.

I have made a custom one, for windows server 2012, So if it the custom is not dependent on the sealed Windows server 2012 monitoring management pack, Then cant i create any alerts in the custom management pack targeting the class Windows server 2012 full operating system ?

January 30th, 2015 7:16pm

That's correct, you won't be able to target the rules/monitors contained in your unsealed mp to the Windows Server 2012 class if you don't have the Windows server 2012 MP in the dependencies.
  • Marked as answer by abdulma 19 hours 27 minutes ago
Free Windows Admin Tool Kit Click here and download it now
January 30th, 2015 9:24pm

That's correct, you won't be able to target the rules/monitors contained in your unsealed mp to the Windows Server 2012 class if you don't have the Windows server 2012 MP in the dependencies.
  • Marked as answer by abdulma Saturday, January 31, 2015 12:33 PM
January 30th, 2015 9:24pm

Hi CyrAz,

Thank you for the reply. Now if your's and my understanding is the same, Then look at the below what happened.

I created a Alert monitor targeting a Windows Server 2012 class in my custom management pack which is not dependent on the Windows server 2012 management pack, But how was i successfully able to create them when the dependency is not there at all, If our understanding is same, then there must be an Error thrown while creating the monitor its self right ? But how was SCOM able to create that ?

Look at the below screenshot.