ADFS and FIM

We have a potential client that wants us to host a SharePoint site at a co-location.  They have AD at their home office.  They want SSO for this SP site and to be able to manage password resets and other account stuff themselves.  I'm just learning about both ADFS and FIM.

My initial idea was to setup a new domain and ADFS at the colo site, then a FIM server as well, and integrate FIM with ADFS.  Is that possible?

OR can we put a domain controller up at the colo site and join it to -their- domain via VPN tunnel, then set up just a FIM server and they have SSO and account control that way?

Any help is greatly appreciated..

June 28th, 2013 6:50pm

FIM and ADFS are not exactly related, although they can certainly be complementary... use FIM for provisioning, data synchronization, workflows, self-service data management and password reset; use ADFS for federated sign-in.
Free Windows Admin Tool Kit Click here and download it now
June 29th, 2013 1:41am

I was also thinking I need this for my scenario..

UAG delivers comprehensive, secure remote access to corporate resources for
employees, partners, and vendors on both managed and unmanaged PCs and mobile
devices. It utilizes a combination of connectivity options, ranging from SSL VPN
to Direct Access, as well as built in configurations and policies, Forefront UAG
provides centralized and easy management of your organizations complete anywhere
access offering.

June 29th, 2013 1:47am

Hello

Keep in mind that you need a trust between your external Active Directory and the AD with the FIM Server or you need shadow accounts for your external AD users in the FIM Forest to let the external logon to the FIM Portal for Password reset and self Service. 

Henry

June 29th, 2013 8:43am

These are the requirements as I undestand them.

• Provide a secure infrastructure solution that can be accessed by users over the Internet.