500GB database limit

Hi, 

I'm new to Azure so please bear with me. 

The maximum size of an Azure database when exposed as a direct service is 500GB.  What is the limit if I create a new Windows server then create a new SQL instance and database(s) inside that?  I understand there are drawbacks with this approach, licensing for one, however does this allow the database size to be greater? 

We are looking at moving all our 1500 SQL databases into a cloud solution and some of them are much bigger than 500GB. 

Thanks 

August 27th, 2015 10:39am

Hi ,

You  can look at the pricing details where premium tier can support to 1 TB

http://azure.microsoft.com/en-in/pricing/details/sql-database/.

Hope this information is helpful while migrating your DB on Azure.

Thanks

Abhishek

Free Windows Admin Tool Kit Click here and download it now
August 27th, 2015 10:52am

You  can look at the pricing details where premium tier can support to 1 TB

http://azure.microsoft.com/en-in/pricing/details/sql-database/.

Thanks for the response.  Do you think that also means databases created inside a VM, seems to be the same cost to me but I'm not sure. 

We have a number of databases (mostly SharePoint) that are over 1TB in size, might have to do some re-engineering.

August 27th, 2015 11:00am

As you mention already there are several different things to consider when choosing a SQL Server hosting option on Azure. You can find a good article here https://azure.microsoft.com/en-us/documentation/articles/data-management-azure-sql-database-and-sql-server-iaas/ that helps you in making a choice.

As far as your question on the 500 GB size limit you can consider splitting your database to scale out using the SQL Database Elastic Database features, but this will involve changes in applications data-layer. When hosting a SQL Server on Azure Virtual Machine your database can be much bigger, you can attach several data disks (currently  up to 64 on a G-series VM)

August 27th, 2015 11:09am