32 bit version on a 64 bit OS

Hi,

I have been using SQL server now for a year (self taught). I have recently been given a new laptop by work and advised to install my own SQL Server from my MSDN subscription.

I have however unwittingly installed a 32 bit version of SQL Server 2014 on my 64 bit machine. After noticing, I have tried to uninstall it but I get the message "the operating system on this computer does not meet the minimum requirements for sql server 2014".

I have been advised that the only way now to remove it from my laptop is to get it completely re-built again.

Can anyone suggest an answer that could avoid me having to re-build my laptop and allow me to simply uninstall? It baffles me that it would allow me to install an incorrect version yet won't allow an uninstall.

I have tried changing the compatibility settings of the setup.exe in the bootstrap file and had no luck.

Thanks

March 30th, 2015 7:51am

Try this https://social.msdn.microsoft.com/Forums/sqlserver/en-US/c2bb8040-02f3-4fc7-ad3e-77241e65fe0b/uninstall-sql-express-2014-error?forum=sqlsetupandupgrade

Probably changing the compatibility level of setup.exe might help.

However you dont really have to uninstall 32 bit SQL to install 64 bit. Both can go side by side.

Free Windows Admin Tool Kit Click here and download it now
March 30th, 2015 8:30am

Thanks for the suggestion Ashwin but I have already tried both of these and still get exactly the same error message.

I have a 64-bit version running correctly side-by-side, but I am loathed to have redundant files/programs on a brand new machine. A lot of research on the topic leads me to believe that (rather astonishingly) a complete re-build is the only way to remove this from my laptop.

• Edited by RMHamm Monday, April 13, 2015 12:05 PM
April 10th, 2015 2:09pm

Thanks for the suggestion Ashwin but I have already tried both of these and still get exactly the same error message.