After moving documents into another folder, SharePoint makes duplicates of those documents in recycle bin.
After moving documents into another folder, SharePoint makes duplicates of those documents in recycle bin.
December 3rd, 2014 9:30am

Hi Azamat,

Based on your description, can you provide more details about how you move your documents?

Per my test, I move through opening with explorer from ribbon, or selecting documents and moving, I do not see the duplicates of these documents in the recycle bin after moving documents.

For troubleshooting this issue, I recommend to verify the things below:

1. There are any workflows associated with the library will move the documents to the recycle bin.

2. Check if there are any custom solution associated with the library will affect the library.

3. Does this issue only occur with this library?

To narrow up the issue scope, please create a new library to test and compare the results.

4. What was the original location for the files in the recycle bin? Was it the former folder or the new folder where the files were moved to?

Best regard,

Victoria
Free Windows Admin Tool Kit Click here and download it now
December 5th, 2014 8:29am

Hi Azamat,

How is everything going?

Is there anything update about this issue?

Best regards.

Thanks

December 19th, 2014 9:11am

Sorry,

Victoria this happens when you are moving files using: "Manage Content and Structure".

Free Windows Admin Tool Kit Click here and download it now
February 24th, 2015 3:59am

hi Azamat,

below is a extract from the support article

https://support.office.microsoft.com/en-gb/article/Work-with-site-content-and-structure-30fcaad9-02b1-4347-8b03-e1ccc5a4c19f

Delete items

This feature enables a site administrator to reorganize a site without forcing site administrators to delete each item individually. Entire subsites or individual items can be deleted from the site collection hierarchy.

If the recycle bin is enabled for the site, list items can be recovered after they have been deleted. However, deleting a subsite is a drastic action; the entire branch is permanently deleted even if the recycle bin is enabled.

it means this is by design that document will appear in recycle bin if it is enabled on site. But delete site will not appear.

February 24th, 2015 4:22am

This topic is archived. No further replies will be accepted.

Other recent topics Other recent topics